Hannah Stippl

„root in unstable ground“, 2022
Hannah Stippl, „root in unstable ground“, Radierung in 4 Farben, 2022

Hannah Stippl
(Born 1968 in Vienna, Austria)

„root in unstable ground“, 2022 for art in print

Etching in 4 colours, printed on Hahnemühle Alt Worms, matt white 350g

Printed by Tom Phelan, Blackspot Press, Vienna

Edition of 15  + 3 AP + 2 EP + 1 PP

Signed, numbered and titled by the artist

Size: 50 x 70 cm

buy now

 

Hannah Stippl

Hannah Stippl

Hannah Stippl is an Austrian artist, curator and landscape theorist. She is known for her landscapes, that playfully balance ornamental elements with art. 

Hannah Stippl was born in Vienna, and studied Philosophy, Art History and Painting at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna. She finished her studies in 2011 with a doctorate in landscape theory. Her dissertation gives the first comprehensive overview of Lucius Burckhardt’s landscape theoretical aquarels. She taught landscape art and design at the University of Applied Art in Vienna from 2005 to 2017. Her theoretical interest and occupation with the historic-cultural and ecological aspect of plants, gardens and landscapes have a strong influence on her artistic work.

Hannah Stippl has curated numerous exhibitions and runs the gallery space puuul in Vienna. She lives and works in Vienna, her Studio in Elsbach in Lower Austria, and Aguilas, Spain.

Statement

„During the last years I have concentrated on the study of structures such as thickets, embankments and wooded slopes. Each project consists of a series of works on paper and canvas that had their own inspiration. My work is created layer by layer, and as I work simultaneously on many at the same time, this can take years. New works start unplanned: a few colour fields, designs and overlapping colours. My compositions are built up layer by layer with overlapping colour fields, aided by stencils and historical paint rollers that I have collected over the last twenty years. As times goes by the layers begin to meld and a certain feeling begins to emerge. It is important to me that all random and unfitting elements remain visible. Stains, grafitti-like fragments, lines that have been drawn mistakenly and remains should all be seen.  Text and designs are based on repetitions, as in magical spells. I combine research on areas such as mythology, feminism or ecology with individualism, emotion and beauty in my work. All these structures evoke natural landscapes with multiple meanings that are familiar and strange and the same time.

During my whole career I have combined my love of design with my interest for plants and landscape. This is what influences my work in my studio, in my garden, and in my horticultural installations. I am radical in the original meaning of the word radicalis, which means rooted or connected to the earth, on the same level as plants. Radicalism in my case is a form of connection to the earth and I imagine my work growing and developing over time, and manifesting itself very slowly.“

– Hannah Stippl

Druckgrafik „root in unstable ground“, 2022, Hannah Stippl

Newsletter von art in print

Mit unserem Newsletter erhalten Sie Neuigkeiten über art in print, Informationen über unsere aktuellen Editionen und allerlei Wisssenswertes über Grafiken und die Kunst der Drucktechnik.

Sie haben sich erfolgreich angemeldet!

0
Keine Produkte im Warenkorb

Hannah Stippl

„root in unstable ground“, 2022
Hannah Stippl, „root in unstable ground“, Radierung in 4 Farben, 2022

Hannah Stippl
(geboren 1968 in Wien)

„root in unstable ground“, 2022 für art in print

Radierung in 4 Farben, gedruckt auf Hahnemühle Alt Worms, weiß matt 350g

gedruckt von Tom Phelan, Blackspot Press, Wien

Auflage 15 Exemplare + 3 AP + 2 EP + 1 PP

von der Künstlerin signiert, betitelt und nummeriert

Blattgröße 50 x 70 cm

Erst im Jänner 2023 lieferbar

Button jetzt kaufen von art in print

 

Hannah Stippl

Hannah Stippl

Hannah Stippl ist eine österreichische Künstlerin, Kuratorin und Landschaftstheoretikerin. Sie ist bekannt für ihre Landschaftsbilder, die spielerisch an der Schnittstelle von Ornament und Bild balancieren.

Hannah Stippl wurde in Wien geboren und studierte Philosophie, Kunstgeschichte und Malerei an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien. Hier promovierte sie 2011 auf dem Gebiet der Landschaftstheorie. Ihre Dissertation bietet den ersten umfassenden Überblick über die landschaftstheoretischen Aquarelle von Lucius Burckhardt. Von 2005 bis 2017 unterrichtete sie an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien in der Klasse für Landschaftsdesign/kunst. Ihre theoretische Beschäftigung mit kulturhistorischen und ökologischen Aspekten von Pflanzen, Gärten und Landschaften beeinflusst ihre künstlerische Arbeit grundlegend.

Hannah Stippl kuratierte zahlreiche Ausstellungen und leitet den Ausstellungsraum puuul in Wien. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Wien, ihrem Atelier in Elsbach, Niederösterreich und Aguilas, Spanien.

Statement

„In den letzten Jahren habe ich mich auf die Erforschung von Strukturen wie Dickicht, Böschungen oder bewachsene Hänge konzentriert. Jedes Projekt besteht aus einer Serie von Arbeiten auf Papier und Leinwand mit einer bestimmten Inspiration. Meine Arbeiten bauen sich Schicht um Schicht auf, und da ich an vielen gleichzeitig arbeite, kann das Jahre dauern. Neue Arbeiten beginnen ungeplant: einige Farbflächen, Muster, Überlagerungen. Kompositionen werden durch sich überlagernde Farbschichten mit Hilfe von Schablonen und historischen Musterwalzen aufgebaut, die ich in den letzten zwanzig Jahren gesammelt habe. Mit der Zeit verschränken sich die Schichten und bestimmte Atmosphären werden wahrnehmbar. Es ist mir wichtig, das Zufällige, Zufällige und Unpassende sichtbar zu halten, Flecken und graffiti-ähnliche Fragmente, Überbleibsel und verirrte Linien. Wörter und Muster beruhen auf Wiederholungen, wie Zaubersprüche. In meinen Arbeiten verbinde ich Forschungen in Bereichen wie Mythologie, Feminismus oder Ökologie mit Individualität, Emotion und Schönheit. Zusammen evozieren diese Strukturen mehrdeutige Naturlandschaften, die mich interessieren, vertraut und fremd zugleich.

Während meiner gesamten Laufbahn habe ich meine Liebe zu Mustern mit einem tiefen Interesse an Landschaften und Pflanzen vermischt. Das ist es, was meine Arbeit im Atelier, im Garten und in der Form von hortikulturellen Installationen prägt. Ich bin radikal im ursprünglichsten Sinne des Wortes radicalis, was verwurzelt, mit der Erde verbunden, mit Pflanzen auf Augenhöhe bedeutet. Das Radikale ist hier eine Form der Erdverbundenheit. Ich stelle mir meine Bilder als wachsend und sich entwickelnd vor, sie offenbaren sich langsam.“

– Hannah Stippl

Druckgrafik „root in unstable ground“, 2022, Hannah Stippl

Newsletter by art in print

With our newsletter, you’ll receive all the latest information about art in print, our current collections and all kinds of interesting details about graphic art and the art of printing techniques.

Sie haben sich erfolgreich angemeldet!

0
Keine Produkte im Warenkorb